Standing and Cross-Appointed Faculty | Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Standing and Cross-Appointed Faculty

Standing Faculty

The WGSS program has several “in-house” staff and employees, including two tenure-track professors, a senior lecturer, a program administrator and a full-time director, usually “borrowed” from another department for a period of 3-5 years. Along with the graduate director and undergraduate director (when the people in these positions are not already “in-house”), these WGSS people make up the administrative team, and meet once or twice a month to deal with administrative decisions.

Danielle Bouchard

Director of Graduate Studies
Associate Professor, Women's and Gender Studies

Phone: 336.334.4344
Email: dmboucha@uncg.edu
CV

Read More

Sarah Jane Cervenak

Director of Undergraduate Studies
Associate Professor, Women's and Gender Studies/African American Studies

Phone: 336.334.4494
Email: sjcerven@uncg.edu
CV

Read More

Daniel B. Coleman

Assistant Professor, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Phone: 336.334.4443
Email: dbcolema@uncg.edu
Website

Read More

Cross Appointed Faculty

Cross-appointed faculty are those with an interest in issues of women, gender, sexuality and related topics, who have officially joined the WGSS program through an individualized MOU between their department chair and the WGSS director.  These program faculty are empowered to make decisions, particularly in votes on promotion and tenure, and usually serve on WGSS committees, teach WGSS classes and classes that carry the WGSS marker.  Their appointment term is four years. If you are interested in becoming a cross-appointed faculty member, please e-mail the current director and program administrator, or wgss@uncg.edu.

Heather Adams

Heather Brook Adams

Assistant Professor, Department of English

Email: hbadams@uncg.edu
Website

Appointed through Spring 2024

Read More

Risa Applegarth

Associate Professor, Department of English

Phone: 336.334.3967
Email: risa_applegarth@uncg.edu
Website
CV

Appointed until Spring 2025

Read More

Silvia Bettez

Associate Professor, Department of Education Leadership and Cultural Foundations

Phone: 336.256.0516
Email: scbettez@uncg.edu
CV

Appointed until Spring 2021

Read More

Claudia Cabello-Hutt

Associate Professor of Spanish, Department of Languages, Literatures and Cultures

Phone: 336.334.3853
Email: c_cabell@uncg.edu
Website

Appointed until Spring 2022

Read More

Ben Clarke

Associate Professor, Department of English

Phone: 336.334.3967
Email: b_clarke@uncg.edu
Website

Appointed until Spring 2025

Read More

Jenny Dale

Reference Librarian and First Year Instruction Coordinator, UNC-Greensboro University Libraries

Phone: 336.256.0240
Email: jedale2@uncg.edu

Appointed until Spring 2024

Read More

Yarneccia D. Dyson

Assistant Professor, Department of Social Work

Email: yddyson@uncg.edu
CV

Appointed through Spring 2023

Read More

Jennifer Feather

Associate Professor, Department of English

Phone: 336.334.5221
Email: jennifer_feather@uncg.edu
Website
CV

Appointed through Spring 2024

Read More

Tara Green

Professor, African American and African Diaspora Studies

Phone: 336.334.5507
Email: ttgreen@uncg.edu
Website

Appointed until Spring 2024

Read More

Ana Paula Höfling

Assistant Professor, Department of Dance Studies

Phone: 336-334-5570
Email: aphoflin@uncg.edu
Website

Appointed until Spring 2022

Read More

Gwen Hunnicutt

Professor, Department of Sociology

Phone: 336.256.3698
Email: gchunnic@uncg.edu
Website

Appointed through Spring 2024

Read More

Lucinda Kaukas Havenhand

Department Head
Professor of Interior Architecture

Email: lkhavenh@uncg.edu
CV

Appointed through Spring 2024

Read More

Elizabeth L. Keathley

Professor, School of Music

Phone: 336.334.5911
Email: elkeathl@uncg.edu
Website
CV

Appointed through Spring 2023

Read More
Karen Kilcup

Karen Kilcup

Professor, Department of English

Email: klkilcup@uncg.edu
Website

Appointed through Spring 2023

Derek Krueger

Professor, Department of Religious Studies

Phone: 336.334.5762
Email: kruegerd@uncg.edu
Website

Appointed through Spring 2020

Read More

Arielle Kuperberg

Associate Professor, Department of Sociology

Phone: 336-334-9768
Email: atkuperb@uncg.edu

Appointed until Spring 2022

Read More

Cybelle McFadden

Associate Professor, Department of Languages, Literatures and Cultures

Phone: 336.334.3335
Email: cmwilken@uncg.edu
Website
CV

Appointed until Spring 2025

Read More
logo

Noelle Morrissette

Associate Professor, Department of English

Phone: 336.334.5311
Email: namorris@uncg.edu
Website
CV

Appointed until Spring 2024

Read More

Nancy Myers

Associate Professor, Department of English

Phone: 336.334.3974
Email: nancymyers@uncg.edu
Website
CV

Appointed until Spring 2024

Read More
Emilia Phillips

Emilia Phillips

Assistant Professor, Department of English

Email: eaphill6@uncg.edu
Website

Appointed through Spring 2024

Read More
Mark Rifkin

Mark Rifkin

Professor, Department of English

Email: m_rifkin@uncg.edu
Website

Appointed through Spring 2024

Read More

Eugene Rogers

Professor, Department of Religious Studies

Phone: 336.334.5762
Email: efrogers@uncg.edu
Website

Appointed through Spring 2024

Read More

María Sánchez

Associate Professor, Department of English

Phone: 336.334.4689
Email: mcsanche@uncg.edu
Website

Appointed until Spring 2021

Read More

Paige Hall Smith

Associate Professor, Public Health Education

Phone: 336.334.5520
Email: paige_smith@uncg.edu
Website
CV

Appointed through Spring 2024

Read More
Faye Stewart

Faye Stewart

Associate Professor of German, Department of Languages, Literatures, and Cultures

Email: afstewart@uncg.edu
Website

Read More
Joan Titus

Joan Titus

Associate Professor in Musicology/Ethnomusicology

Email: j_titus@uncg.edu
Website

Appointed through Spring 2024

Read More

Amy Vetter

Associate Professor, Department of Teacher Education and Higher Education

Phone: 336.334.9876
Email: amvetter@uncg.edu
Website
CV

Appointed through Spring 2024

Read More

Amy Vines

Associate Professor, Department of English

Phone: 336.334.9876
Email: anvines@uncg.edu
CV

Appointed until Spring 2024

Read More

Ting Wang

Assistant Professor, Department of Sociology

Email: t_wang5@uncg.edu
CV

Appointed through Spring 2024

Read More

Adjunct Faculty

Adjunct faculty are those with an interest in issues of women, gender, sexuality and related topics who teach classes that carry the WGSS marker. Adjunct faculty do not participate in decision-making, though they may choose to be involved in the program in other ways.

Sarah E. Colonna

Associate Faculty Chair, Grogan College

Email: secolonn@uncg.edu

Read More
Holland Headshot

Tiffany Holland

Adjunct Lecturer, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Email: jthollan@uncg.edu

Read More